About Us

Translate This Page

Our Vision

All students graduate from high school with the skills needed to be successful in life, and to make a positive impact in the community.

Our Mission

To inspire and support the social, emotional, and academic development of students through mentoring, learning experiences, and a powerful community.

How We Work

Our unique model ensures that both students and mentors benefit from being part of CfY. We match mentors and students following a weekend of fellowship, fun, and collaborative learning at Camp Colman, located on the Olympic Peninsula.

Mentors and students commit a minimum of 12 hours per month during the academic year to meeting one-on-one, and in larger groups for directed workshops that address key life skills, including Mindfulness, Optimism, Resilience, Goal-Setting, and more. The diversity of topics and group sizes ensures that our students and their mentors feel both valued and supported every step of the way.

Make Positive Change. Be a CfY Mentor.

Being a CfY mentor is rewarding, challenging, and fun! You’ll not only provide critical support for an inquisitive, driven young person, but you’ll also build a strong network with fellow mentors.

Community for Youth in 90 seconds

Since 1985, Community for Youth (CfY) has been changing lives. Combining one-on-one mentorship with directed workshops and fun, community-building activities, we help underserved teens from the most vulnerable South Seattle high schools grow and thrive.

The CfY Team

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Lara Hansen, Building Oz, Board President
Jay Gelose, DLR Group, Board Vice President
Damian Sevilla, Kidder Mathews, Board Secretary
Chris Rooney, Willis Towers Watson, Immediate Past President
Sheila Roe, Sheila A. Roe, CPA, Treasurer
Jerrid Anderson, Colliers International
Clay Gilge, KPMG
Landon Graham, Swedish Health Services
Stephen Koszalka, Amazon
David Roe, Slalom Consulting
Steve Tarr, Steve Tarr Consulting, LLC

2016 Leadership Team

Lauren Foster, Seattle Tilth, President
Joyce Chase, Verizon, Immediate Past President
Linda Meza, Secretary
Gwen Davis
Iga Fiyako Keme
Sarah Mann
Sarah Margeson
Kate Meyers
Erwin Park
Olivier Prock
Chris Rion
Austin Schneider
Hannah Udell

Administrative Staff

Janice Deguchi, Executive Director
Justin Burgess, Program Liaison Americorps
Erica Merritt, Facilitator
Hayley Nolan, Outreach and Partnership Coordinator
David Quigley, MSW Foundation Practicum Student
Stephen Song, Director of Programs
Elizabeth Thompson, Data and Communication Administrator